How to limit audience for past posts when enabling subscribe button on Facebook

You can easily enable or disable the subscribe button on Facebook personal profile that will allow non friends to view your posts that for now was limited only for your friends. There are many who would want to make their personal Facebook profile public but do not want to share past posts and hence refrain from using this feature. The good news is you can enable Subscribe button and can use the limit audience for past posts to hide past posts from public view.

When you enable the subscribe button all posts in your account are marked for public, so any non friend can view any of your posts from your profile. If you are not comfortable making your old posts visible for public then use the limit audience for past posts option that will make all old posts marked for friends only. This is the perfect option of people who are conscious about their privacy.

So now with Facebook subscribe button enabled and all your posts hidden you can start adding new posts which can be made viewable to public or limited to friends and you need not worry about the older posts.

How to limit audience for past posts in Facebook

  • Go to privacy settings.
Facebook privacy settings

Facebook privacy settings

  • Click Limit the audience for past posts.
Limit the audience for past posts

Limit the audience for past posts

  • Then click limit old posts.
Facebook : Limit old posts

Facebook : Limit old posts

  • You will need to click on confirm button again.
Confirm to limit audience for old posts

Confirm to limit audience for old posts

  • Now all your posts will change to (viewable to) Friends.

You can undo this process on Facebook, but you will have to do it one posts at a time there is no one click undo solution for it. But then it really does not matter as it is better to show off new posts to public plus you can control (for each posts) what to show and what not to show for the public.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.