Facebook now comes with a new feature called Subscribe. You can now enable the Subscribe button that will show up on your profile page and anyone can subscribe to it even if they are not your friend. To allow unknown Facebook users to show your updates on their news feed you need to activate the Subscriber button.
Is Subscribe button different from Facebook like?
Facebook like is linked with Facebook pages and anyone who “like” the page will get updates on their Facebook wall.
The Subscribe button on the other hand is linked with personal Facebook profile page which was only visible to friends or family members. No one else could view the post, updates, status messages, photos that you were posting from your personal profile. With Subscribe option you can now allow anyone who is not your friend to view only things that you share publicly.
Why should I enable Subscribe option on Facebook?
It is really up to you, if you want to share your personal messages, photos, videos with non-friends on Facebook. The option is now available i.e. if you want to. Your post might be of interest to a wider audience but as of now it is only visible to your friends. You can make it public. In simple words Subscribe button is similar to follow button on Twitter. You can interact with your friends and at the same time non-friends can view your post, if you want you can also allow non-friends to comment.
How do I enable the Subscribe button on Facebook?
- Just visit the Facebook Subscribe Button page and click allow subscribers.
- You will then see a box with edit subscriber settings, select what you want to share.
- Once done click the Okay button.
- You can manage your subscribers / Subscription from your personal profile page which will now show the subscribers link.
- Your Facebook friends need not subscribe as they are already subscribed by default.
- This is how the subscribe button will look like.
How to disable Subscribe button on Facebook?
- Click the Subscribers link from your personal Facebook page.
- Then click Edit Settings.
- Then you will see the Edit Subscriber settings box, just change the down option for Subscribers from On to Off and click Okay.
- Subscriber button will then be removed from your personal profile.