XOLO today via a unique event on Twitter launched the XOLO Omega 5.0 and Omega 5.5 octa core powered handsets for Rs. 8,999 and Rs. 9,999 respectively . These are dual SIM handset that run on the Hive UI built on Android 4.4. The Omega 5.0 and the 5.5 comes with non-removable battery.

On the hardware front the XOLO Omega 5.0 is powered by 1.4GHz MediaTek 6592m octa core chipset coupled with Mali 450 MP GPU. As mentioned it sails on Android 4.4 with Hive UI. The capacitive IPS touch screen is 5 inches supporting 1280 x 720 pixels resolution.

The Omega 5.0 also comes loaded with an 8MP camera with Exmor R sensor with flash placed on the rear and a 2MP front facing camera. 1080p videos recording and playback is supported. The handset is 10.5mm thick. The handset back looks somewhat similar to Moto handsets but the buttons are unique.

XOLO Omega 5.0 buttons

Key features are 3G (HSPA+), 2G, Wi-Fi, GPS and Bluetooth. There are 3 sensors accelerometer, proximity and light. The Omega 5.0 comes with non-removable battery of 2100 mAh capacity.

dual SIM XOLO Omega 5.0 octa core

The octa core Omega 5.5 sports a 5.5 inch IPS screen with HD resolution and using a 13MP AF SONY EXMOR RS sensor camera on the rear and a 2MP on the front. It comes with 1GB RAM and 8GB storage. The built in battery on the Omega 5.5 is 2600 mAh. Rest of the features are same as on the Omega 5.0.

XOLO Omega 5.0 is priced at Rs. 8,999 will be available from 10th December and the Omega 5.5 is for Rs. 9,999 from 20th December. Hive will get lollipop update.

Hive lollipop update

By Rajeev Rana

Founder and Chief Editor - gogi.in