Xiaomi Mi A1 review – Awesomely Awesome, Awesomely Awesome

Here is the Xiaomi Mi A1 review,  this handset comes with a attractive price tag and also performs in all areas be it gaming, battery life, overall quality and camera. This review will help you know how the handset performed and you can also check the sample images.

Xiaomi launched the Mi A1 handset that is actually AndroidOne powered which means Xiaomi is taking care of the hardware and Google will be handling the software part. The biggest advantage of Mi A1 is it will continue getting Android updates, the next one will be Android O and the next will be Android P.

Talking about performance the Snapdragon 625 14nm chipset does a very good job, powerful and hardly heats up, perfect for gaming. Screen quality is also pretty good with a FHD resolution and Corning Gorilla Glass protected.

Key highlight is the dual cameras on the back, check the camera section to get an idea how the camera performed.

Xiaomi Mi A1 review

Xiaomi Mi A1 features, specifications

Inside the box (unboxing the Xiaomi Mi A1) :  Handset, data cable (USB to USB Type C), travel charger 5V/2A, user guide, warranty card, and SIM Ejector Pin
SAR Value : 1.26 W/kg @ 1g head and 0.17 W/kg @1g body (15mm distance)
Body : Build and finishing is very good, weight is 163 gram, easy to use and hold, comfortable, metal body with curvy design
SIM Type : Nano SIM + Nano SIM / Micro SD card (Hybrid slot), 4G VoLTE supported
Weight and Dimensions : 163 grams, 7.3mm thick
Screen  :  5.5 inches, 1920 x 1080 pixels resolution, viewing angles, touch response and color reproduction are very good, 2.5D curved glass and corning gorilla glass protected for added protection
Connectivity :  4G, VoLTE (work on both SIM), WiFi, GPS, IR Blaster and Bluetooth
Sensors : Accelerometer, Proximity, light and magnetic, Gyro, hall and Step counter
LED Notification : Yes, single color
OTG : Yes supported
RAM : 4GB (about 2.8GB free on first boot)
ROM : 64GB (about 52GB free on first boot)
Micro SD : Yes 128GB MAX
OS : Android Nougat 7.1.2, will get Android Oreo and Android P updates, this is pure android and not running MIUI

Xiaomi Mi A1 back panel

Xiaomi Mi A1 Performance

CPU :  Qualcomm Snapdragon 14nm 625 octa core @ 2Ghz
GPU :  Adreno 506 GPU
Heating : low
Max Battery Temperature : 36 degrees

Handset is powerful, hardly heats up, max battery temp I encountered was 36 degrees.

Xiaomi Mi A1 display

Xiaomi Mi A1  Benchmark

Antutu : 63395 / 13021
NenaMark3 :  59.4fps (3-3)
Multi Touch : 10 points
Disk Speed :  214 MB/s read  and 230 MB/s write

Xiaomi Mi A1 design, metal body

Xiaomi Mi A1  Gaming Review

I installed Asphalt 8 and Modern Combat 5. Both these games played really well, no lags, very smooth and after playing it for few minutes the battery temp was pretty normal in fact.

Xiaomi Mi A1 ports

Xiaomi Mi A1  Camera  Review

Rear Camera : 12MP wide angle (f/2.2) – 25mm focal length + 12MP Telephoto (f/2.6) 50mm focal length, auto focus, flash, dual tone LED flash
Front Camera : 5MP, f/2.0, beauty mode
Video Recording : max 4K resolution

The camera quality is excellent. You get really good shots in dual camera mode, however follow the instructions  when you enable dual camera mode, cause if you don’t you will complain about subject not focusing, blurry etc.  So once you understand how the dual camera works you will be able to make the most out of it (check the samples below).

Xiaomi Mi A1 dual cameras

Normal shots are also excellent, there is 2x optical zoom that also does a very good job, using when you want to zoom in without moving forward. The selfie shots were good. Mi A1 can shoot 4K videos, video quality is very good, you also get time-lapse and slow motion video recording options.

Night / low light shots also turned out great. There is manual mode option for still photos, however the shutter control option is limited, would have been better if you get to control it a bit more.

Camera Rating :  4.4 out of 5

Mi A1 camera sample

xiaomi mi a1 camera sample flower xiaomi mi a1 camera sample flower normal xiaomi mi a1 camera sample leaves xiaomi mi a1 camera sample hydrant normal xiaomi mi a1 camera sample hydrant dual xiaomi mi a1 camera sample tree rope xiaomi mi a1 camera sample tree rope dual xiaomi mi a1 camera sample tree dualmode xiaomi mi a1 camera sample tree dual2 xiaomi mi a1 camera sample tree dual xiaomi mi a1 camera sample dog dual xiaomi mi a1 camera sample longshot HDR 2x xiaomi mi a1 camera sample longshot auto xiaomi mi a1 camera sample longshot HDR xiaomi mi a1 camera sample night auto xiaomi mi a1 camera sample night HDR xiaomi mi a1 camera sample night HHT
Mi A1 shot with dual rear camera in portrait mode Mi A1 camera sample front Selfie

Download Original Image files (right click and save) (do not use it for commercial purpose, without permission of gogi.in).

Other features

The finger print sensor on the back is not very fast but also not really that slow, and its accurate. Sound is loud and clear, no issues. I did not face any issues with networks, I was using the Reliance Jio SIM + Airtel SIM.

Xiaomi Mi A1  Battery Review

Battery capacity : 3080mAh (non-removable)
Charging Time : I used the QC 3.0 fast charger to charge it took 2 hours to charge from 0% to 100%, so fast charger really did not charge that fast, handset does not support fast charging, use the charge provided
Battery Life : 5 to 9 hours non-stop (moderate to heavy)
Daily usage battery life : One to One and a Half days of mixed usage

Battery Test Results

Battery Temp at idle : 33 degrees
Running Benchmark app :
 17 minutes / 3% / 34 degrees
Mc5 + Asphalt 8  game play : 15 minutes / 5% / 35 degrees
4K video playback with full brightness (WiFi /4G on) :  25 minutes / 7% / 36 degrees

Verdict

Another excellent handset from Xiaomi, and add to it powered by AndroidOne – this makes it even more special. Now this handset is not running MIUI, the experience will be different. In case you are in love with MIUI this is not for you, unless you are looking for a change.

Mi A1 performs, hardly heats up (do not mix battery temp with CPU Temp – Battery Temp limit is up to 60 degree and CPU Temp limit is up to 100 degree), camera is excellent and battery life is also pretty good.

A very good buy if you are planning to get one, go ahead.

Rating : 4.5 out of 5

Xiaomi Mi A1  price in India is Rs. 14,999 sale begins from 12th September 2017.

384 Comments

  1. Vishal Singla October 8, 2018
  2. Vishal Singla March 29, 2019
  3. Gagan S Pawar January 3, 2018
  4. Gagan S Pawar March 29, 2019
  5. Shashikant December 24, 2017
    • Chandra Kumar Singha January 10, 2018
  6. Shashikant March 29, 2019
    • Chandra Kumar Singha March 30, 2019
  7. Vignesh s December 17, 2017
  8. Vignesh s March 29, 2019
  9. Stefan December 16, 2017
  10. Stefan December 16, 2017
  11. Navpreet Singh December 16, 2017
  12. Stefan March 29, 2019
  13. Stefan March 29, 2019
  14. Navpreet Singh March 29, 2019
  15. Navpreet Singh December 16, 2017
    • Gogi Rana December 16, 2017
    • Navpreet Singh December 16, 2017
      • Gogi Rana December 16, 2017
        • Navpreet Singh December 16, 2017
          • Gogi Rana December 16, 2017
  16. Navpreet Singh March 29, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
    • Navpreet Singh March 30, 2019
      • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
        • Navpreet Singh March 31, 2019
          • Gogi Rana March 31, 2019
  17. J.Mahadev October 27, 2017
  18. J.Mahadev March 29, 2019
  19. Kunal Choudhary October 26, 2017
  20. Kunal Choudhary March 29, 2019
  21. Rajesh October 26, 2017
  22. Rajesh March 29, 2019
  23. Nitesh kumar October 24, 2017
  24. Nitesh kumar March 29, 2019
  25. Shahid Ahmed October 14, 2017
    • Gogi Rana October 14, 2017
  26. Shahid Ahmed March 29, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
  27. Kabilan S October 9, 2017
  28. Kabilan S March 29, 2019
  29. Vivek October 7, 2017
  30. Vivek March 29, 2019
  31. vivekk October 6, 2017
  32. vivekk March 29, 2019
  33. manoj October 4, 2017
  34. manoj March 29, 2019
  35. skg07 September 30, 2017
  36. skg07 March 29, 2019
  37. Prashant September 26, 2017
  38. Prashant March 29, 2019
  39. Brian September 24, 2017
  40. Brian March 29, 2019
  41. VT September 23, 2017
  42. VT March 29, 2019
  43. Mubin September 19, 2017
  44. guru September 19, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 19, 2017
      • guru September 20, 2017
  45. Mubin March 29, 2019
  46. guru March 29, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
      • guru March 31, 2019
  47. Vijay September 19, 2017
  48. Abinash Kumar September 19, 2017
  49. Vijay March 29, 2019
  50. Abinash Kumar March 29, 2019
  51. Sushil September 18, 2017
  52. Sushil March 29, 2019
  53. Ronak September 18, 2017
  54. Ronak March 29, 2019
  55. Y.S.Ananth September 18, 2017
  56. Y.S.Ananth March 29, 2019
  57. VIGNESH R September 17, 2017
  58. VIGNESH R March 29, 2019
  59. Rudra Prasana Sahoo September 12, 2017
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL September 13, 2017
  60. Rudra Prasana Sahoo March 29, 2019
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL March 30, 2019
  61. Sathish September 12, 2017
    • Shrikant September 12, 2017
  62. Sathish March 29, 2019
    • Shrikant March 30, 2019
  63. RAM G September 11, 2017
  64. Ranjan September 11, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 11, 2017
      • Ranjan September 12, 2017
      • vijay September 12, 2017
        • Gogi Rana September 12, 2017
          • Sankalp September 13, 2017
      • Arun October 6, 2017
  65. RAM G March 29, 2019
  66. Ranjan March 29, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
      • Ranjan March 31, 2019
      • vijay March 30, 2019
        • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
          • Sankalp March 30, 2019
      • Arun March 30, 2019
  67. Shreyas September 11, 2017
  68. Ashutosh September 11, 2017
  69. Santosh Shirke September 11, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 11, 2017
      • Prashant Nirale September 13, 2017
  70. Amaresh September 11, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 11, 2017
      • Shubham September 11, 2017
  71. Shreyas March 29, 2019
  72. Ashutosh March 29, 2019
  73. Santosh Shirke March 29, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
      • Prashant Nirale March 31, 2019
  74. Amaresh March 29, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
      • Shubham March 30, 2019
  75. SAM September 11, 2017
  76. sachin11 September 10, 2017
  77. Maninder September 10, 2017
  78. SAM March 29, 2019
  79. Ranjan September 10, 2017
  80. Abhishek September 10, 2017
    • AS3 September 10, 2017
  81. vai September 10, 2017
  82. sachin11 March 30, 2019
  83. Maninder March 29, 2019
  84. Ranjan March 30, 2019
  85. Abhishek March 30, 2019
    • AS3 March 30, 2019
  86. vai March 30, 2019
  87. Varun kp September 10, 2017
    • Jayw September 10, 2017
      • Varun kp September 10, 2017
      • woohoo September 10, 2017
  88. Arry September 10, 2017
    • woohoo September 10, 2017
  89. neonbulb September 10, 2017
    • neonbulb September 11, 2017
  90. dandotiya September 10, 2017
    • Raja September 10, 2017
    • woohoo September 10, 2017
  91. Ankit Jain September 10, 2017
  92. Anirban Roychowdhur September 10, 2017
  93. Varun kp March 30, 2019
    • Jayw March 31, 2019
      • Varun kp March 31, 2019
      • woohoo March 31, 2019
  94. Anubhav September 10, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 10, 2017
      • Rajesh September 10, 2017
  95. Arry March 30, 2019
    • woohoo March 30, 2019
  96. neonbulb March 30, 2019
    • neonbulb March 30, 2019
  97. dandotiya March 30, 2019
    • Raja March 31, 2019
    • woohoo March 30, 2019
  98. Ankit Jain March 30, 2019
  99. Anirban Roychowdhur March 30, 2019
  100. Anubhav March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 31, 2019
      • Rajesh March 31, 2019
  101. ismail September 10, 2017
    • AS3 September 10, 2017
      • Anil September 10, 2017
      • raghav September 10, 2017
        • woohoo September 10, 2017
      • dandotiya September 10, 2017
  102. ismail March 30, 2019
    • AS3 March 30, 2019
      • Anil March 31, 2019
      • raghav March 31, 2019
        • woohoo March 31, 2019
      • dandotiya March 30, 2019
  103. raghav September 10, 2017
  104. Abhishek September 10, 2017
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL September 10, 2017
      • Sajid Bhopal September 10, 2017
        • Abhishek September 10, 2017
          • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL September 10, 2017
          • woohoo September 11, 2017
      • Abhishek September 10, 2017
        • ismail September 11, 2017
        • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL September 11, 2017
          • Sankalp September 13, 2017
  105. sachin11 September 9, 2017
    • Sankalp September 10, 2017
  106. kiran pani September 9, 2017
    • kiran pani September 10, 2017
  107. Tdhm September 9, 2017
    • kiran pani September 10, 2017
  108. sukhjeev singh September 9, 2017
    • Jai Prakash Mukherjee September 9, 2017
  109. raghav March 30, 2019
  110. Abhishek March 30, 2019
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL March 31, 2019
      • Sajid Bhopal March 31, 2019
        • Abhishek March 31, 2019
          • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL March 31, 2019
          • woohoo March 31, 2019
      • Abhishek March 31, 2019
        • ismail March 31, 2019
        • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL March 31, 2019
          • Sankalp March 31, 2019
  111. sachin11 March 30, 2019
    • Sankalp March 30, 2019
  112. Elex Patel September 9, 2017
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL September 9, 2017
    • sachin11 September 9, 2017
      • raghav September 10, 2017
  113. Raghu.M September 9, 2017
  114. Naveen September 9, 2017
  115. Shrey Tyagi September 9, 2017
    • Sankalp September 9, 2017
      • sachin11 September 9, 2017
  116. yash September 9, 2017
    • Siva S September 9, 2017
  117. kiran pani March 30, 2019
    • kiran pani March 31, 2019
  118. Jitendra Pareek September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
  119. Modi September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
  120. sachin11 September 9, 2017
    • Don September 9, 2017
      • Nikhil September 9, 2017
      • Shrikant September 10, 2017
  121. SUYOG September 9, 2017
  122. Lalu September 9, 2017
    • Lalu September 9, 2017
      • Sankalp September 9, 2017
        • Lalu September 10, 2017
    • sachin11 September 10, 2017
      • Rahul September 10, 2017
  123. Tdhm March 30, 2019
    • kiran pani March 30, 2019
  124. sandeep kamat September 9, 2017
  125. sukhjeev singh March 30, 2019
    • Jai Prakash Mukherjee March 31, 2019
  126. Raja September 9, 2017
  127. Sachin sharma September 9, 2017
  128. mitkum September 9, 2017
  129. harshal September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
  130. Dipak Patel September 9, 2017
  131. Elex Patel March 30, 2019
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL March 31, 2019
    • sachin11 March 30, 2019
      • raghav March 30, 2019
  132. Raghu.M March 30, 2019
  133. Naveen March 30, 2019
  134. Shrey Tyagi March 30, 2019
    • Sankalp March 30, 2019
      • sachin11 March 31, 2019
  135. yash March 30, 2019
    • Siva S March 31, 2019
  136. lucky September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
    • Sam September 9, 2017
  137. Jitendra Pareek March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 31, 2019
  138. Sam September 9, 2017
    • Shrikant September 9, 2017
    • Dipak Patel September 9, 2017
  139. Sam September 9, 2017
    • Gowtham September 9, 2017
      • Sam September 9, 2017
        • Gowtham September 9, 2017
    • jumbli September 9, 2017
  140. karan September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
      • Tdhm September 9, 2017
    • AzizUllaKhan September 9, 2017
      • Rahul September 10, 2017
    • Sankalp September 9, 2017
  141. Modi March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
  142. sachin11 March 30, 2019
    • Don March 31, 2019
      • Nikhil March 31, 2019
      • Shrikant March 31, 2019
  143. Sandeep parwani September 9, 2017
  144. vicky September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
  145. Dinesh September 9, 2017
  146. SUYOG March 30, 2019
  147. Lalu March 30, 2019
    • Lalu March 30, 2019
      • Sankalp March 30, 2019
        • Lalu March 30, 2019
    • sachin11 March 30, 2019
      • Rahul March 30, 2019
  148. sandeep kamat March 30, 2019
  149. Vsk September 9, 2017
  150. sachin11 September 9, 2017
  151. Raja March 30, 2019
  152. Sachin sharma March 30, 2019
  153. mitkum March 30, 2019
  154. Skumar September 9, 2017
  155. Nadeem nazir September 9, 2017
  156. SUBARNA September 9, 2017
    • Tushar September 9, 2017
      • SUBARNA September 9, 2017
      • SUBARNA September 9, 2017
  157. Vikash September 9, 2017
  158. Kuntal September 9, 2017
  159. SKM September 9, 2017
    • Jinendra September 9, 2017
  160. AS3 September 9, 2017
  161. 4u4ever September 9, 2017
  162. Anurag Trivedi September 9, 2017
  163. Shiva Iyer September 9, 2017
  164. Param September 9, 2017
    • Durga September 9, 2017
    • Shrikant September 9, 2017
  165. Varun September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
  166. harshal March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
  167. Ravi September 9, 2017
    • Gogi Rana September 9, 2017
      • Ravi September 9, 2017
        • jumbli September 9, 2017
        • Shrikant September 9, 2017
        • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL September 9, 2017
  168. Dipak Patel March 30, 2019
  169. ALFA September 9, 2017
  170. dinu September 9, 2017
  171. Rohit Jain September 9, 2017
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL September 9, 2017
      • Rohit Jain September 10, 2017
  172. lucky March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
    • Sam March 30, 2019
  173. Sam March 30, 2019
    • Shrikant March 30, 2019
    • Dipak Patel March 30, 2019
  174. Sam March 30, 2019
    • Gowtham March 30, 2019
      • Sam March 30, 2019
        • Gowtham March 30, 2019
    • jumbli March 30, 2019
  175. karan March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
      • Tdhm March 30, 2019
    • AzizUllaKhan March 30, 2019
      • Rahul March 30, 2019
    • Sankalp March 30, 2019
  176. Sandeep parwani March 30, 2019
  177. vicky March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
  178. Dinesh March 30, 2019
  179. Vsk March 30, 2019
  180. sachin11 March 30, 2019
  181. Skumar March 30, 2019
  182. Nadeem nazir March 30, 2019
  183. SUBARNA March 30, 2019
    • Tushar March 30, 2019
      • SUBARNA March 30, 2019
      • SUBARNA March 31, 2019
  184. Vikash March 30, 2019
  185. Kuntal March 30, 2019
  186. SKM March 30, 2019
    • Jinendra March 30, 2019
  187. AS3 March 30, 2019
  188. 4u4ever March 30, 2019
  189. Anurag Trivedi March 30, 2019
  190. Shiva Iyer March 30, 2019
  191. Param March 30, 2019
    • Durga March 30, 2019
    • Shrikant March 30, 2019
  192. Varun March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
  193. Ravi March 30, 2019
    • Gogi Rana March 30, 2019
      • Ravi March 31, 2019
        • jumbli March 31, 2019
        • Shrikant March 31, 2019
        • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL March 31, 2019
  194. ALFA March 30, 2019
  195. dinu March 30, 2019
  196. Rohit Jain March 30, 2019
    • SHUBHAM JAISHWAL March 30, 2019
      • Rohit Jain March 30, 2019

Leave a Reply (note your comments will not show immediately)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.